125 years of history
The Spanish government built the original lighthouse in 1892 and it was later rebuilt in 1922 by the United States Coast Guard.
Piñones Forest Trail
Located right in between Las Marias and Dome surfing spots, the lighthouse offers amazing view to both directions and to watch a stunning unset.
The “Faro de Punta Higuero” or Rincón Lighthouse was originally built in 1892 and was severely damaged 26 years later in the “1918 San Fermín earthquake”. The combined effects of the earthquake and tsunami made it one of the worst natural disasters that have struck the island.
In 1922 the lighthouse was rebuilt by the U.S. and the town of Rincón built “El Faro Park” around the lighthouse, a popular spot for watching sunsets, surfers and even whales.
Rincón 00602, Puerto Rico
Why you should go
– stunning view
– between two of the bet surfing spots in Puerto Rico
– Souvenir shops on the parking
Officially closed at 6pm, but is alway accessible.